Alexei Adan

Home town: Miami, FL
Undergrad: Cornell University
Major: Chemistry, Biology
Med School: University of Pennsylvania
Hobbies/Interests: Walking my kitty, swimming, running, tennis, traveling/exploring, cooking/baking, writing, singing in the shower, and driving around the city in my new RAV4!
Favorite movies or TV shows: The Walking Dead, Rupaul’s Drag Race, Game of Thrones (obvs), House of Cards, Broad City, The X-Files, Parks & Rec, and Transparent
Favorite Music: Super eclectic taste! I’ll listen to anything from jazz to electronica, but some faves include CHVRCHES, Jess Glynne, Fleetwood Mac, J Biebs, Thomas Newman, Atlas Genius, Tycho, Drake, Foxes, The 1975, Florence & the Machine, and WHITNEY
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: I’ll eat anything, but I can always go for some Thai or Korean
Five year plan: Adopt a dog, travel WAY more, and train for a triathlon. Career-wise, I’ll definitely be involved in medical education. Fellowship-wise: Maybe wilderness medicine? Maybe sports medicine? TBD.
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Floating in outer space, skydiving over the Great Barrier Reef, or swimming with sea turtles off the coast of Zakynthos. Alternatively teaching myself to play guitar so I could join a band and live out the dream.
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? Avatar the last air-bender, would love to bend the elements
Random fact: I’m a half-Cuban/half-Russian commie baby who was born in Cuba and grew up as a political refugee in my home and native land of Canada. What’s that aboot, eh? That and I’m obsessed with Reese’s Puffs cereal.

Amanda Bates

Home town: Plymouth, MA
Undergrad: Stonehill College
Major: History
Med School: Jefferson Medical College
Hobbies/Interests: the beach, cooking, traveling, hanging out with my adorable dog Henry
Favorite movies or TV shows: trashy reality television, HGTV and any/all cooking shows
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: literally everything, though there’s a special place in my heart for wine and cheese
Five year plan: surviving intern year, after that we’ll see
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? flipping houses
Random fact: I played rugby in college

Jessica Fujimoto

Home town: Camarillo, CA
Undergrad: UC San Diego
Major: Human Biology
Med School: New York Medical College
Hobbies/Interests: running, basketball, art, traveling
Favorite movies or TV shows: SNL, Game of Thrones, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Chopped
Favorite Music: indie rock and gangster rap
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: BREAKFAST BURRITOS
Five year plan: learn lots of EM, eat lots of food, drink lots of coffee
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? WNBA sensation
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? one of Gru’s minions
Random fact: I can be measured with a Broselow tape

Kimon Ioannides

Home town: somewhere between Blacksburg-VA, Boston-MA and Athens-Greece
Undergrad: Stanford University
Major: Math
Med School: University of Pennsylvania
Hobbies/Interests: biking, swimming, running, hiking, and just about anything outside
Favorite movies or TV shows: Air Crash Investigation, ER, Mythbusters (yes I am a huge dork)
Favorite Music: South African House Music, New Orleans Brass Bands
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: The spicier the better
Five year plan: Take care of lots of people on the hardest day of their month in the ED, and learn how to do it better and safer.
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Still teaching high school Math in New Orleans
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? Bart Simpson
Random fact: My real favorite food is leftovers

Jessi Jackson

Home town: Laytonsville, MD
Undergrad: University of Maryland Baltimore County
Major: Psychology
Med School: Temple made
Hobbies/Interests: Ice hockey, crossfit, and trying to tame my wild English Bulldog Charleston.
Favorite movies or TV shows: Remember the Titans, GoT, SVU, and many more
Favorite Music: Most popular music, Tupac, Michael Jackson
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: Impossible to pick in the most awesome food city, but I love anything Garces, Solomonov, or Vetri.  Amada, Amis, Osteria, Zahav to name a few.
Five year plan: Hopefully make it through residency and maybe fellowship.  Make it to the other 30 restaurants on the Top 50 in Philly that I haven’t yet been to.
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Probably psych research
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? Eliza Thornberry
Random fact: I used to breed and show rabbits.  My rabbitry name was Rev’s Rabbits since I’m Jessi Jackson.  I’m your go-to person if you need someone to genotype your rabbit or figure out a breeding pair to get a specific color.

Marc Leshner

Hometown: Elkins Park Pennsylvania (aka the North East)
Undergrad: Penn State University
Major: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Med School: Drexel College of Medicine
Hobbies/Interests: Cooking, running
Favorite movies or TV shows: Kill Bill Volumes 1-3, Food Network, Bizarre Foods w/ Andrew Zimmern
Favorite music: Classic rock, funk
Favorite foods/Restaurant: Thai, Vietnamese (really just Pho)
Five year plan: Get a dog and become a better doctor
If you werent doing EM, what would you be doing: Become a chef
What superhero or cartoon character would you be?: Neo from the matrix but not be as boring as Keanu Reeves
Random fact: I can move my hair so it looks like I am wearing a wig (it is hard to explain and yes it is weird)

James Murrett

Home town: Wherever the family is.  Moved a lot, but mostly grew up in Virginia.
Undergrad: Harvard
Major: Physics and Astrophysics and the Outdoors
Med School: Penn
Hobbies/Interests: Running, Hiking, Gardening, Cooking, Beer Gardens
Favorite movies or TV shows: Arrested Development, Community, Firefly, The Wire, Silicon Valley, Parks & Rec, Archer
Favorite Music: Paul Simon, Bruce, Beatles, Radiohead, Bill Staines, Kanye West
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: Love the weekly struggle of keeping up with our farm share but also love going out.  There are so many good eats in Philly: Zahav/Dizengoff, Handy Nasty, Cheu Noodle Bar, Monk’s, Whiskey Village, Russet, Capogiro
Five year plan: Finish residency, start a family, do all the things
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Probably retire
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? Inspector Gadget, though I once had the code name Gambit
Random fact: I usually remind people of a childhood friend or Bill Nye

Efrat Kean

Home town: Jerusalem, Israel
Undergrad: William & Mary
Major: Government & Biology
Med School: UVA
Hobbies/Interests: traveling, hiking, cooking, rock climbing, slowly eating my way through every restaurant in Philly
Favorite movies or TV shows: The West Wing, Firefly, Jon Oliver
Favorite Music: anything except aggressively loud death metal
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: lots
Five year plan: make the dog love me more than she loves my husband
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? I’d tell you, but then I’d have to kill you.
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? some days I feel like the Roadrunner, but man, other days I am definitely Wile E Coyote
Random fact: my thumbs are double jointed, but I didn’t realize it was abnormal until I was 22

Adria Simon

Home town: Emmaus, PA
Undergrad: University of Chicago
Major:  Biology
Med School: New York University
Hobbies/Interests: I like sports and I don’t care who knows, hiking, cooking, getting swole, extreme napping
Favorite movies or TV shows:  10 Things I Hate About You, 30 Rock, Veep, Burning Love, Arrested Development, Magic Mike, Magic Mike XXL, RuPaul’s Drag Race
Favorite Music: any and all 90s jams, Talking Heads, One Direction
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: SOUP DUMPLINGS
Five year plan:  Get a six pack, become the next Bachelorette
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Pastry chef/socialite/the official tour doctor of RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? The spirit of Mallory Archer, the body of Lana
Random fact: Nutella is only okay

Danielle Thompson

Home town: Brookline, NH
Undergrad: Emory University
Major: Chemistry and Anthropology
Med School: Jefferson Medical College
Hobbies/Interests: Traveling, cooking, hiking, running, my dogs
Favorite movies or TV shows:  Guardians of Galaxy, Hot Fuzz, Star Wars, Game of Thrones, New Girl, Mindy Project
Favorite Music: Anything that is not Country
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: All foods, especially sushi. Zahav, Indeblue, Sampan, Russet, Monk’s
Five year plan: Finish residency and my 4 years of active duty for the USAF while traveling as much as possible and attempting not to get any more dogs.
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Trophy wife
Random fact: I have been to 24 countries and licked a Weaver ant in Australia (it’s a thing, look it up).

Deena Wasserman

Home town: Pittsburgh, PA
Undergrad: Yeshiva University, NYC
Major: Bio/Education
Med School: University of Pittsburgh
Hobbies/Interests: Travel, theater, hiking, and basically anything that will spike my adrenaline
Favorite movies or TV shows: The Princess Bride, Secondhand Lions, Aladdin, The Lion King. Scrubs, The Mindy Project, HIMYM, Grey’s Anatomy, Avatar the last airbender, Veronica Mars
Favorite Music: Currently? Hamilton. Pretty much anything I can sing along with
Favorite Foods/Restaurant: Anywhere I can get a really good burger. Or sushi.
Five year plan: Become badass Er doc. Probably do a fellowship in something and try to get a job abroad
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing? Starving actor trying to make it on Broadway, crying because I’m too white to be cast in Hamilton. Or bumming around the globe with a backpack full of supplies and a pocket full of dreams
What superhero or cartoon character would you be? Either Black Widow or Tinkerbell
Random fact: I love Harry Potter. Before the last movie came out, I was challenged to a marathon. In one week I completed the entire series, one book and one movie per day.

Richard Wroblewski

Hometown: Glen Mills PA
Undergrad: University of Maryland
Major: Biology
Med School: University of Maryland ( Double Terp!)
Hobbies/Interest: When opportunity allows I love going backpacking/ traveling / getting outdoors. When there isn’t as much time I really enjoy checking out all of philly’s beer gardens, playing boardgames, going to a flyers or eagles game, a good escape the room,  or just getting out of the house and hospital in general.
Favorite Movies or TV shows: Varied and depends on the mood. Short list: Game of Thrones, Archer, South Park, Reservoir dogs, Gladiator, Armageddon, Space Jams, Star wars, and on and on and on.
Favorite Music: T-Swift amongst others, but mostly T-Swift
Favorite Foods/Restaraunt: Paesano’s Philly Style in the Italian Market. Best Sandwich in Philly…. no questions
Five Year Plan: Find a way out of my crippling Debt payments, working in Philadelphia, have enough time off to hit 1 bucket list trip a year.
If you weren’t doing EM, what would you be doing?:  There was a point in my life where I could see being a college professor in some topic, but really I’d be okay with finding a sugar mama and being a house dad.
What superhero or cartoon character would you be: Tough call between Tommy Pickles or Scooby Doo. Tommy pickles is quite resourceful but the idea of being a dog and solving mysteries really appeals to me.
Random Fact: One does not simply walk into Mordor